Food Innovation Center

Collaborating for a healthier, hunger-free world.

2015 Dietary Guidelines for Americans Summit

DGA Summit

The Dietary Guidelines for Americans provide the foundation for all federal food and nutrition programs as well as the dietary guidance for all Americans.  For that reason, the OSU Food Innovation Center convened two Dietary Guidelines Summits during the 2014-2015 year.  Our fall summit brought national experts to the Ohio State campus to explore the history of the dietary guidelines and successful nutrition programs from the community, academic and industry perspective. 

Our 2015 DGA Summit, held in partnership with the John Glenn College of Public Affairs and National Geographic, took place in Washington, DC.  Here, the nation’s foremost experts gathered to discuss how we can make the dietary guidelines simple, actionable and practical for all Americans

This event was made possible with the generous support of Abbott Nutrition, the Abbott Nutrition Health Institute, the Dannon Institute, and the National Dairy Council.

You can view the agenda here and watch the Summit below.

DGA Summit Key Takeaway Documnet



View the 2015 DGA Summit Key Takeaways document. This document summarizes the expert advice and opinions of our speakers and panelists and provides key recommendations for future research.  





 McGinnis Opening Remarks by Kaitlin Yarnall and Ken Lee, 2015 Dietary Guidelines Introduction by the Honorable Kevin Concannon, and Keynote Address by J. Michael McGinnis
 DGA Summit Panel 1 Panel 1: Addressing the Needs of Vulnerable Populations
Moderator: Cheryl Achterberg, Panelists: Lucile Adams-Campbell, Benard Dreyer, Ginny Ehrlich, Anna Maria Siega-Riz
 DGA summit panel 2

Panel 2: Understanding What Impacts Consumer Behavior
Moderator: Dennis Dimick, Panelists: Gnel Gabrielyan, Leslie Lytle, Robert Murray

 DGA summit panel 3 Panel 3: Bringing Healthy Food to Scale Across Sectors
Moderator: Neal Hooker, Panelists: Hank Cardello, Debra Eschmeyer, the Honorable Dan Glickman, Jeff Lenard
 Roger Clemens Closing Remarks by Roger Clemens
Sherrod Brown Remarks by Senator Sherrod Brown