Food Innovation Center

Collaborating for a healthier, hunger-free world.

FIC Members Recognized for Distinguished Teaching and Faculty Service

The Food Innovation Center congratulates members Sarah Schoppe-Sullivan and Mary Ellen Wewers on receiving university awards.

Columbus, Ohio - Schoppe-Sullivan was honored as one of 12 recipients to win the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching. Wewers was one of three faculty members to receive the President and Provost's Award for Distinguished Faculty Service.

An associate professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Science, Schoppe-Sullivan received her Distinguished Teaching award for going above and beyond as a research mentor for undergraduate students. Since joining OSU in 2003, she has played a significant part in designing new courses, revising curricula, and serving on her department's Undergraduate Studies Committee.

"The department does not consider Dr. Schoppe-Sullivan an effective teacher but rather an exceptional teacher," one nominator wrote.

As part of the annual Distinguished Teaching honor, Provost Joseph Alutto presented Schoppe-Sullivan with a symbolic apple at a surprise classroom visit in March 2012. She will be honored for her award, along with the other 12 recipients, during half-time at the OSU-Purdue game on Oct. 20.

Wewers, a professor in the Division of Health Behavior and Health Promotion, is the first person to win the Award for Distinguished Faculty Service in the College of Public Health. Wewers has made significant contributions to the university over the course of her 25-year career with OSU, including innovative curriculum revision of the College of Nursing's PhD program as Graduate Studies Chair and director. Her research on tobacco control and smoking cessation in Appalachia has been continually funded by the National Institute of Health since 1988.

"Mary Ellen is a tireless advocate for smoking cessation and has placed particular emphasis on helping underserved communities," wrote a nominator. 

Since joining the College of Public Health in 2005, Wewers has been an integral leader for the college, serving on six public health faculty search committees (three as chair), acting dean for a quarter, associate dean for research, interim director of the Center for Health Outcomes, Policy and Evaluation (HOPES), and director of faculty development.

Both recipients  receive a cash award of $3,000 and an increase of $1,200 to their base salaries from the Office of Academic Affairs. More information about the award and previous recipients can be found at