Food Innovation Center

Collaborating for a healthier, hunger-free world.

FIC Member Nancy Moran Receives Ohio State's 2016 Postdoc of the Year Award


The Postdoctoral Advisory Council (PAC) is pleased to announce FIC member Nancy E. Moran as the inaugural recipient of the annual Postdoc of the Year Award. This award is presented to a postdoc who has shown outstanding service, advocacy, and support to the postdoctoral community and/or the university. Dr. Moran has not only contributed to the leadership of the Ohio State Postdoctoral Association (PDA) as a former co-chair, but has been an outstanding advocate through her efforts as a member of  the PDA’s Policy and Advocacy and Professional Development Committees. Much of her efforts centered around a proposal from the PDA to establish an Office of Postdoctoral Affairs and paid parental leave for postdocs, both proposals are being evaluated by the university leadership. After a 5-year position as a postdoctoral researcher and trainee of Dr. Steven Clinton in the Comprehensive Cancer Center, Dr. Moran will be moving to Baylor College of Medicine as a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the department of Pediatrics-Nutrition.

PAC representatives surprised Dr. Moran at her lab meeting on May 31st to give her the award. Left to Right: PAC members Jeff Agnoli and J. Marcela Hernandez, Nancy E. Moran, and Steven Clinton.